How Do I Delete My Account?

The Transition website is built on a platform called Nationbuilder. We chose this platform for multiple reasons, but ultimately because it meets the extensive needs of our website users and those who operate and manage the back-end of the site and the organization as a whole. We wanted to make sure the platform we chose would be able to sustainably work for us in the long term and not just our short term visions. Nationbuilder charges its customers on a sliding scale based on registered users. We pay these fees off of financial contributions we get via Contributorships. Our site has thousands of unique registered users and grows every day and not everyone is a paid Contributor. That means we are charged for registered users whether or not they are actively using the site, and whether or not they are contributing to that cost.  We try to be as fically conservative as we can be. So, if you register and have no intention of actively doing Your Action Plan we ask that you delete your account until you are ready to commit to the process. What this means is that we will be able to make our funding strench father, support our site for a longer period of time, and also in the future be able to take surplus funds and invest them in people's grassroots projects via The Cooking Pot.

A:

Contact your Point Person live (via Phone or schedule a Skype call) and request to have your profile (individual or organization) deleted. Our website is built on Nationbuilder and currently the ability for a website user to delete their own profile is not a feature. As an organization we like this because in the past our website user base has had issues with:

  • People assuming their identities
  • Hackers
  • People with malicious intent accessing their electronics (laptops, smartphones, tablets etc.)
  • Significant other's or children accessing their account

For our Point People it has been made clear there is no disputing a live conversation with people you have spoken to before. In order to serve those who use our website the best way we know how and to fulfill their actual wishes this is our current protocol for deleting a profile or account. If these steps are not taken the profile and account will remain intact. We thank you for your understanding.